The Museum is located in the original Wells Fargo Building built in 1877. It is the oldest Wells Fargo Express Station still in existence, and features the original vault used to store the silver bullion waiting to be shipped. Now the Museum is packed with artifacts from Silver Reef's rich history. Back in the 1800's the south side of the building housed a mercantile store, and today it is where out gift shop resides. The north side of the basement is used for our Mine Exhibit, while the south side stores many of the artifacts found in Silver Reef not on display.
Cosmopolitan Restaurant opened by Margaret Grambs in 1876. Mrs. Grambs stayed well after Silver Reef's heyday, running her restaurant until the mid 1890's. Old photographs were used to replicate the original restaurant as much as possible. Then the new building was used as a modern restaurant for several years. Now the Cosmopolitan Event Center is used primarily for Museum lectures, special exhibits, and other Museum functions. It is also rented to the public for private affairs. It can seat up to 100 people in its main 1,000 sq. ft. area of open space. This is complemented by a large serving island backed by support counters tops, a refrigerator, and rest rooms. Out back there is a newly built deck with expansive views of the White Reef, red cliffs, and Pine Valley Mountains. Out front is a lovely desert garden and plenty of nearby parking.